02 Dec 2014

Economic development awards for innovation and leadership

Alissa Sklar is the director of marketing for GIS Planning. She has extensive experience as a consultant, writer and educator in the fields of technology and communications. Dr. Sklar has a Ph.D. in Communications from the University of Massachusetts of Amherst, and has as worked closely with B2Bs and economic development agencies to assess, develop and implement social media strategies for business development.

In the profession of economic development two key elements often define the success of communities and economic development professionals: leadership and innovation. They are essential to move things forward and out of the inertia of tradition. They are intrinsic in the character of the economic development professionals that define, redefine, and elevate our society. What we all need is leadership and innovation …and luck. But we decided that it was completely inappropriate to give out awards for being lucky.

It is with this focus on innovation and leadership that we, in partnership with fDi Intelligence, recognized the efforts and excellence of 20 economic development thinkers, leaders and practitioners. You can view the entire award ceremony by clicking here, or select one of the names below to see the individual presentations. 

Economic Development Innovation Team Award

Innovation Team Award

Tedra Cheatham -  Executive Director, The Clean Air Campaign

Danielle Casey  - Director Economic Development, City of Scottsdale

Cecilia Harry -  Executive Director, Greater Fremont Development Council

William C. Sproull - FM President & CEO, Richardson Chamber of Commerce

Julie Curtin - Executive Vice President & Partner, Development Counsellors International (DCI)

Andrew T. Levine - President & Chief Creative Officer, Development Counsellors International (DCI)

Economic Development Leadership Team Award

Leadership Team Award

Ed Nelson - Director, USFC.EDI

Ronnie L. Bryant - President & CEO Charlotte Regional Partnership

William E. Best - Senior Vice President, PNC Bank

Kurt Chilcott - President & CEO, CDC Business Finance

David L. Spaur - Economic Development Director, County of Monterey

Economic Development Innovation Awards:

Ioanna T. Morfessis

Frank Altman

Ted M. Levine

Economic Development Leadership Awards:

Maury Forman 

Greg LeRoy

Anne Roise

Rosie Rios

Roy H. Williams

Other award recipients (not present at the ceremony) included Christian Gibbons, William E. Best, Tedra Cheatham, Danielle Casey and William C. Sproull. Congratulations to all!


Post has no comments.

Post a Comment

Captcha Image